---
title: "Access Control & Roles"
url: "https://help.flows.world/en/article/access-control-roles"
language: "en"
last_updated: "2024-08-07T16:04:42.486Z"
---

# Access Control & Roles

Flows allows you to define access control in order to limit what users can do in different situations. Across control works on two levels: Teams & Workspaces.

## **Teams**

Every user in Flows will belong to a Team. A Team would usually represent a company while a Workspace within a team would represent a business unit, product, brand or any other grouping you wish to use within that Team.

A user within a Team has one of two roles:

| **Team Role** | **Description** |
| --- | --- |
| Owner | A super user for the team. Owners are able to create new workspaces, install apps, configure special settings and have access to all parts of the team |
| Member | A standard member of the team. All users invited to a team will have the "member" role unless they are an owner. Members have access to all public workspaces within the team |

## **Workspaces**

A Team has a number of workspaces that are created by Team owners. Workspaces help to organise flows based on different groupings. Workspaces can be public or private.

A public workspace will be open and visible by all members of a team.

In a private workspace, specific users from the Team can be added and each user can be assigned a role that will enable or limit their abilities within that workspace.

Workspace members can have the following roles:

| **Workspace Role** | **Description** |
| --- | --- |
| Owner | All access rights listed below and can also invite new members to the workspace and delete the workspace if it's empty |
| Admin | Can create, enable/disable and delete any flows within the workspace. |
| Author | Can create new flows but cannot enable or disable them. Can delete their own flows only |
| Member | Can view flows and their logs but cannot create new flows |

Workspaces also have folders within them to give an additional level of organisation however, folders do not have access restrictions. All folders within a workspace will be visible and accessible by all users in the workspace.
